Three Glen Lochay Munros

Day 1 Sgiath Chùil + Meall Glas

Day 2 Beinn Challuim

Day 1

Sgiath Chùil + Meall Glas

Thursday 26 July 2012

13.8 km/1172 m/08:00 hrs

Munros: Sgiath Chùil + Meall Glas (Nos. 249 + 250)

“By Kenknock Farm and just by a cattle grid there is a walker’s car-park. Do not drive to the road end and park beside a bridge where some curious cows lurk to lick your car!”

With that quote from Steven Fallon‘s website in mind, I duly parked in the car park about one km E of Kenknock Farm, hoping to bag all five Glen Lochay Munros within the next two days.

The hill tops were covered in low cloud, but it was dry and quite warm. After walking past the resident cattle herd without incident, I crossed the bridge over the River Lochay and followed the track S up the hillside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the first hairpin bend I left the track and climbed up directly along the pipeline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After reaching a small dam with a nice waterfall behind it, I continued up the open hillside, roughly following the Allt Innis Daimh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The ridge leading to Meall a’ Churain is not very well defined to start with.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back along the wide ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shortly after entering the cloud and passing the top Meall a’ Churain, I suddenly heard voices. A minute later I came across a group of walkers who were sheltering in a little dip and having their lunch break, they had come up from Glen Dochart and showed me their ascent route on the map. It looked a lot steeper than my route!

I walked a few hundred metres further to visit Sgiath Chùil’s summit cairn – unfortunately I didn’t get any views in the thick cloud.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I returned to the place where I had met the other walkers. They had finished their break and we all made our way down the steep grassy slopes towards the Lairig a’ Churain.

When we got below cloud level, we could actually catch a (hazy) glimpse of Glen Dochart.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bealach between Sgiath Chùil and Beinn Cheathaich is quite featureless, and I was glad when the clouds started to lift and I could see the opposite hillside. The other group, who were only carrying light daypacks, were soon way ahead of me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the (now cloud free) ridge of Meall a’ Churain and Sgiath Chùil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It had become very warm by now and I needed a rest. After a lunch break in Coire na Saobhaidhe I reached the ridge about 300 m SW of Beinn Cheathaich. From there I could follow a path towards Meall Glas.

The other group had taken a NW route from the bealach and had climbed Beinn Cheathaich from the N. Now I could see them in the distance, they were just a few minutes ahead of me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag Mhòr on the opposite side of Glen Lochay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to Beinn Cheathaich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the summit, I found the other walkers sitting on and around the cairn, and after a little chat I continued on my way (completely forgetting to take a summit photo).

Although it is supposed to be “a detour of only half an hour”, I gave the Corbett Beinn nan Imirean a miss.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the summit of Meall Glas, I walked a few hundred metres NW and then descended the steep slopes to the W, aiming for a track zig-zagging down to the river.

Beinn Challuim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few crags need to be skirted during the descent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Down in the glen, I forded the River Lochay and joined the track on the opposite bank.

View back to the zig-zag track coming down the hillside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking along the glen, I kept looking for a suitable camp site, and finally found one a bit SE of Stob a’ Bhiora, which would give me good start point for my ascent of Beinn Challuim the next morning.

I was pleasantly surprised that, although the pitch was quite sheltered and near the river, the midges were not too bad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

Day 2

Beinn Challuim

Friday 27 July 2012

16.3 km/713 m/06:00 hrs

Munro: Beinn Challuim (No. 251)

In the morning, I followed one of the streams up the hillside towards the rather undefined E ridge of Beinn Challuim.

Glen Lochay and the site of last night’s camp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Above Stob a’ Bhiora, looking NE into Glen Lochay.

At this point dark clouds appeared, and the weather turned windy and cold.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I followed the ridge towards the summit, and soon entered the clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Higher up, the ridge becomes steeper and I had to find a way between boulders and crags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I arrived at the summit cairn, the wind was so strong that I was struggling to stay upright. I sheltered behind the cairn for a short break and to decide what to do.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was certainly not the “light wind” that had been forecast, and in these conditions I didn’t really feel like bagging the two remaining Munros, Creag Mhòr and Beinn Sheasgarnaich. With no views and feeling cold and miserable, I decided to cut my walk short and come back another time.

On a compass bearing I descended along the NW ridge towards the Bealach Ghlas-Leathaid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allt Challum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back up the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking along the Allt Challum.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was glad when I reached a solid track which runs parallel to the one further down in the glen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few glimpses of sun in Upper Glen Lochay.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunshine in the glen – but Beinn Challuim still covered in cloud.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At Batavaime I joined the lower track that’s running along the river.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Lochay track.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Further along the glen, a herd of cattle were blocking my way, and I had to make a detour around the walls of a sheepfold…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Apart from that, the return to the start point of my walk was uneventful. Maybe I should have kept going and included the two last Munros of this round, but somehow I had lost my motivation after the unpleasant ascent of Beinn Challuim.

The whole trip was much more strenuous than expected, the terrain is almost completely pathless and very rough going. I have done similar routes in the past, but for some reason I didn’t enjoy this one very much – hopefully it will be better when I come back for the remaining two Munros…

Back to top

2 thoughts on “Three Glen Lochay Munros

  1. Have enjoyed some nice walking in and around Glen Lochay, just enough off the beaten track to feel remote and as you say generally rough going.
    Hope you enjoy your return trip, I did Creag Mhòr and Beinn Heasgarnaich together and found them a good day out. Some good spots for a high level camp high up though!

    • I spent the first half of August in Crianlarich to bag some Munros in the area, and during that time I also climbed Creag Mhòr and Beinn Heasgarnaich together as a day trip (I am writing up the trip reports at the moment) 🙂

Leave a Reply

