Meall Dearg (Liathach) + Beinn Eighe

Wednesday 09 July 2014:

Meall Dearg

Thursday 10 July 2014:

Beinn Eighe + Tops

Day 1, Wednesday 09 July 2014

Meall Dearg via Coire na Caime

16.6 km/1071 m/08:30 hrs

Munro Top: Meall Dearg (No. 64) 

Meall Dearg is supposed to be the most difficult Munro Top on the mainland, and I had been waiting quite a while for an opportunity to climb it. All I needed was a spell of dry weather, with little wind and good visibility, and this week the forecast looked promising.

My plan was to climb Meall Dearg from Coire na Caime, then contour around Glas-Toll a’ Bothain to access Mullach an Rathain from the W, continue along the ridge from W to E and finish with the Munro Top Stùc a’ Choire Dhuibh Bhig. My estimated time for this route was 10 hours, but once again things didn’t quite go to plan…

When I approached Liathach on the road from Kinlochewe, the ridge was under cloud, but at this point I was optimistic that the clouds would soon lift. I parked in the car park opposite the Ling Hut and headed up into Coire Dubh Mòr at 09:20.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few years ago I had ascended the ridge from Coire Dubh Mòr via Stùc a’ Choire Dhuibh Bhig, which had been a nice warm-up for the harder scrambling further along the ridge. Today this was my planned return route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stepping Stones in Coire Dubh Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the path junction a bit further up I turned left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the first of a chain of lochans I left the path and continued across rough terrain towards Glas-toll Lochain. From here the steep crags of Meall Dearg looked impressive, but unfortunately the ridge was still covered in clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The stepping stones at the outflow of Loch Coire na Caime were slippery and covered with moss, but using my trekking poles for balance I managed to get across with dry feet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire na Caime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spidean a’ Choire Lèith towering above the loch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rock formations in Coire na Caime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire na Caime has got several tiers, and the easiest way up is to follow the stream flowing down from Coireag Chàm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coireag Chàm – the grassy/stony slope on the right is the ascent route to the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Higher up the slope steepens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near the col at the lowest point of the ridge the terrain is very loose and even steeper than before. To find the best way up, I changed from left to right and back again as the other side always looked easier from the distance, but sadly not any more when I got there!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This last section before the ridge took me ages but eventually I arrived at the col which was still enshrouded in clouds. I couldn’t even see the top of Meall Dearg, so I just made my way along the ridge towards it, hoping the summit would be an obvious feature.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The scrambling along the ridge wasn’t difficult, I just took my time and tried every hold first because the rocks were very loose, but I found it slightly unsettling not to know how far I had to go.

Approaching the summit of Meall Dearg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Woohooo – that had to be the summit 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had made it – now some views would have been nice!

And as it happens, suddenly the clouds lifted and I got a glimpse of Beinn Alligin, but it only lasted a few seconds and then my surroundings were covered again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By now it was 14:15 and I had already resigned to the fact that I wouldn’t have enough time to do the whole ridge. I would have to return via Coire na Caime and come back another time.

For the Munro Tops I have set myself the (rather puristic) rule to do the Tops together with the respective Munro, on the same day. That means I’ll have to climb Meall Dearg again – but I think next time I will try a different route because the one around the back of Liathach takes too long.

I will probably do the ridge from W to E like I had planned today, but climb Meall Dearg as an “out-and-back” from Mullach an Rathain, via Glas-Toll a’ Bothain. It would be interesting to find out how this route compares to the one I did today.

Northern Pinnacles, as seen on my way back to the col.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I passed this steep grassy gully on the NW side of the col I was wondering if this was the way down into Glas-Toll a’ Bothain?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

While I retraced my steps into Coireag Chàm, again very slowly and carefully as it seemed even trickier in descent, the clouds started to break up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crags below Mullach an Rathain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire na Caime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Am Fasarinen Pinnacles.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the col in the centre of the photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spidean a’ Choire Lèith and Am Fasarinen, now completely cloud-free…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unnamed stream flowing into Coire na Caime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire na Caime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Buttress N of Am Fasarinen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walkers on Am Fasarinen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By the time I reached Loch Coire na Caime, the cloud level was above all the hills and it became increasingly sunny and warm.

Carn na Feòla (Beinn Dearg), Beinn Àirigh Charr and Beinn a’ Chearcaill.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Coire na Caime, with Beinn Eighe in the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To vary the return route a bit I walked in a more northerly direction to rejoin the path W of Loch Grobaig.

Loch a’ Ghlas-tuill with Beinn Dearg as a backdrop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch a’ Ghlas-tuill and Beinn Eighe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glas-toll Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waterfall below Loch a’ Ghlas-tuill.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

N face of Liathach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sgùrr Dubh and Sgorr nan Lochan Uaine on the other side of Glen Torridon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got back to my car shortly before 19:00 and drove around Loch Torridon to Shieldaig to stay at the campsite for two nights. The campsite in Torridon would have been closer but it is very sheltered and I expected it to be midge-infested, whereas the one in Shieldaig is situated above the village and I was hoping it would be breezy up there. Besides, I wanted to try the Tigh an Eilean Hotel for a bar meal.

Loch Shieldaig.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was such a lovely, warm evening that I could have my dinner on the roof terrace of the Coastal Kitchen which is the more casual part of the Tigh an Eilean Hotel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shieldaig village from the roof terrace.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

Day 2, Thursday 10 July 2014

Beinn Eighe + Tops

22.3 km/2298 m/10:45 hrs

Munros (2nd round): Ruadh-stac Mòr + Spidean Coire nan Clach (Nos. 48 + 49)

Munro Tops: Sail Mhòr, Còinneach Mhòr, Sgùrr Bàn + Sgùrr nan Fhir Duibhe (Nos. 65 – 68)

Looking across to Shieldaig Island from the campsite, the weather looked promising, just as well as I had a long day ahead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I drove back along the road towards Kinlochewe and parked by the bridge across the Allt a’ Chuirn, where I was planning to finish my walk in the evening. I started walking along the road at 09:00 and shortly after passing Cromasaig I heard the first car approaching behind me, and quickly stuck my thumb out. The car stopped and I got a lift by two rock climbers who were on their way to climb a route up the Triple Buttress – a perfect start to the day!

While the climbers got ready at the car park, I started walking up the same path as yesterday, but this time I turned right at the path junction and contoured around Sail Mhòr to reach Loch Coire Mhic Fhearchair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn a’ Chearcaill.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Baosbheinn and Beinn an Eòin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Coire Mhic Fhearchair and the Triple Buttress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Following a sketchy path around the right hand side of the loch, I got a close-up view of the Triple Buttress. I kept looking out for the two climbers who had overtaken me on the way up to the loch, but I didn’t see them until later in the day when they had finished their route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the foot of the buttress I turned right and headed up over rough ground to the lowest point of the ridge between Còinneach Mhòr and Sail Mhòr.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Higher up, there are traces of a path and the top of this route is marked by a tiny cairn on the ridge. As I was gaining height, the views got even better.

Ruadh-stac Mòr above Coire Mhic Fhearchair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Triple Buttress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire MhicNòbaill and Beinn Alligin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Liathach – today would have been a better day to climb Meall Dearg!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near the summit of Sail Mhòr I came across a work of art similar to the “bookshelf” I had found on Beinn Alligin in October 2012.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I know that some people don’t like to see this kind of thing on the hills, but I find it fascinating that someone would make such an effort to create this, and I actually find it quite pretty (it’s made of stones and as such a part of the hill, after all).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The first Munro Top of the day, Sail Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Patchwork of hills, lochs and clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Deer with a head for heights on Sail Mhòr’s narrow N ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Dearg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From Sail Mhòr to Còinneach Mhòr it’s an easy stroll, until this rock face is reached…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t see an obvious route up, so I started walking around to the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I came across this cairn on top of a rock, I thought it might mark the start of the ascent route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I climbed up to the cairn, but still couldn’t see a way up the rock face. But I did see a faint path bypassing the rocks, so I followed it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately this path seems to descend continuously instead of giving access to the top of Còinneach Mhòr, so I turned back after a while, hoping to find another way up. And on the way back I could actually see a possible route – the “staircase” in the centre of the photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As it turned out, this was a perfectly safe ascent route, not too steep and with lots of holds. 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was very relieved to have overcome the hardest part (or so I thought), only to be faced with some outwards sloping rock slabs which were just a bit too exposed for my liking. But looking around for a safer way up, I found an easy gully to the left of the slabs.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking down from about halfway up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rest of the ascent is straightforward scrambling over rock steps with plenty of handholds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View down to Loch Coire Mhic Fhearchair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Compared to Meall Dearg, the (allegedly) hardest Munro Top on the mainland, I actually found this one harder because the correct route is not obvious at all. I wasted a lot of time with route finding and when I finally reached the summit of Còinneach Mhòr, it was already after 14:00.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wide plateau beyond Còinneach Mhòr with the rest of Beinn Eighe behind – still a long way to go!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way along the rim of the coire I finally managed to spot the two rock climbers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to Sail Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Coire Mhic Fhearchair.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The normal ascent route from the loch to the col between Ruadh-stac Mòr and Còinneach Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cairn at the E end of Còinneach Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking along the ridge to Spidean Coire nan Clach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire Ruadh-staca.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The climbers topping out on Còinneach Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Vertical crags below Còinneach Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Triple Buttress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Approaching Ruadh-Stac Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARuadh-Stac Mòr summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meall a’ Ghiuthais.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruadh-stac Beag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Làir and Slioch, with An Teallach in between.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View NW towards the hills of the Flowerdale Forest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Còinneach Mhòr plateau.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sail Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After enjoying the fantastic views in all directions I returned to the col between Ruadh-stac Mòr and Còinneach Mhòr, but this time I used the bypass path on the E flank of Còinneach Mhòr that leads back onto the main ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to Ruadh-stac Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Across Glen Torridon to Sgùrr Dubh and the Achnashellach hills.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spidean Coire nan Clach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Còinneach Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruadh-stac Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Grudie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spidean Coire nan Clach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trig point near the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The summit is about 150 m further along the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Spidean Coire nan Clach summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point my legs were beginning to feel tired, it was almost 17:00 and I still had a long way to go. I was actually thinking about using the descent route via Coire an Laoigh, but then again I had plenty of daylight hours left and it would have been a shame not to take advantage of such a gorgeous day. After all, it didn’t really matter at what time I would return to my tent!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View towards Drochaid Allt Toll a’ Ghiubhais.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I continued along the ridge to the third Munro Top, Sgùrr Bàn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rocky buttress on the way to Sgùrr Bàn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruadh-stac Beag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Clair and Loch Coulin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sgùrr Bàn summit cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View across Drochaid Allt Toll a’ Ghiubhais to Slioch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sgùrr nan Fhir Duibhe and the Black Carls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last section before the summit of Sgùrr nan Fhir Duibhe is a steep slope of scree and boulders. Normally I don’t mind this kind of terrain but at this time of day I found it quite strenuous to climb up loose stones and rocks that started moving and sliding when I stepped on them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But eventually I reached the summit of the last Munro Top of the day, Sgùrr nan Fhir Duibhe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

No time to relax yet – the Black Carls were waiting!

I had climbed those pinnacles before, but in the other direction when I had done the whole ridge starting from Kinlochewe. The scrambling had been mainly in an upwards direction and the only difficulty I remember was the fact that the rocks were crumbly and loose, and a few pieces had come off when I had tried them as handholds…

This time I had to downclimb these sections, and although they are not really difficult, I had to be careful not to lose concentration because of tiredness.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Black Carls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking towards Creag Dubh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another downclimb.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch an Tuill Bhàin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire Domhain, my descent route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Black Carls.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that the difficulties were over, I sat down for a well-deserved break and to refuel for the long descent.

Ridge towards Creag Dubh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back from the unnamed top between Sgùrr nan Fhir Duibhe and Creag Dubh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last section of the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag Dubh, with Beinn a’ Mhùinidh behind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The descent route is a scree path along Creag Dubh’s E ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The path descends steeply into a gorge where the Allt a’ Chuirn has to be forded. The ford itself consists of some slippery rock slabs with a tree root as a handrail. While I was tackling this awkward stream crossing, I was eaten alive by midges, hence no photos of this section!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hurried along the path to escape from the midges, and arrived back at my car at 21:15.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back at the campsite in Shieldaig I was treated to a beautiful sunset, a fitting end to an exhausting but wonderful day. After a quick dinner in my tent I had a very good sleep that night.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next morning on the way home I visited the Whistle Stop Cafe in Kinlochewe for breakfast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The photos were taken when the cafe had just opened, it became a lot busier later on!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Friendly service, great food and a unique design – thoroughly recommended!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

9 thoughts on “Meall Dearg (Liathach) + Beinn Eighe

    • Thank you, it certainly was amazing, and apart from the cloud cover on the first day (which of course cleared later…), I was very lucky with the weather.

  1. Ouch! that route across the Black Carls looks bloody scary – it looks harder than the Bad Step. I’m pretty sure I didn’t take the same route as you on the Bad Step and yours looked harder than mine. You’re a braver ‘man’ than me! 😉
    Carol.

    • The Black Carls are not that bad, but if you should want to climb them I would suggest the traverse from N to S (starting from Kinlochewe). That way you could ascend the steep bits instead of downclimbing them, which would make it a little easier.

Leave a Reply

