Cairn Gorm + Tops

Tuesday 24 June 2014

14.2 km/908 m/05:30 hrs

Munro (2nd round): Cairn Gorm (No. 47)

Munro Tops: Cnap Coire na Spreidhe, Stob Coire an t-Sneachda, Cairn Lochan + Creag an Leth-choin (Nos. 60 – 63)

It was already 11:45 when I started from the Cairngorm Ski Centre Carpark up the “Windy Ridge” which leads to the Ptarmigan Restaurant.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I passed the restaurant and headed E toward the first Munro Top of the day, Cnap Coire na Spreidhe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is not a lot of height gain involved, and I arrived at the summit after a few minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bynack More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Mheadhoin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Avon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Etchachan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After enjoying the extensive views in all directions, I continued to the summit of Cairn Gorm with its weather station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The busy summit area.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the summit I descended towards the crags above Coire an t-Sneachda.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire an t-Sneachda.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun kept burning down, so I stopped on Stob Coire an t-Sneachda to apply more sunscreen…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way around the rim of the coire I could watch some rock climbers making their way up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rock climbing route.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crags above Coire an t-Sneachda.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire Domhain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fiacaill Ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire an Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to Cairn Gorm and Stob Coire an t-Sneachda.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Zoom along Coire Domhain and the Shelter Stone Crag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way up Cairn Lochan I saw a walker approaching with some long “sticks” attached to his rucksack, and when he came closer I realised that they were skis! He was obviously planning to ski down some of the large snow patches in one of the corries and I was hoping I would be able to watch him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Great Slab.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cairn Lochan summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire an Lochain crags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The skier (just visible as a yellow dot in the photo) descended to the top of the large snow patch below Cairn Lochan, and I was wondering how he could get over the edge of the snow which was several metres thick.

But after a while he attached his skis back to his rucksack and climbed back up to the plateau. I didn’t see him after that but I assume he skied down somewhere further around the coire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View across Miadan Creag an Leth-choin, with the top of Creag an Leth-choin just visible beyond.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag an Leth-choin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way towards Creag an Leth-choin/Lurcher’s Crag I got a great view along the Lairig Ghru.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crags on the E flank of Sròn na Lairige.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag an Leth-choin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View down the Lairg Ghru towards Aviemore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The summit cairn on Creag an Leth-choin is a fantastic viewpoint and I settled down for a long break to enjoy the sun and the views.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could make out three tents pitched on a grassy patch just above the Lairig Ghru (this came in handy a few weeks later when I was looking for a camp site in that area…).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View N from Creag an Leth-choin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking S along the Lairig Ghru.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was reluctant to leave this lofty perch but eventually made my way across one of the tributary streams of the Allt Creag an Leth-choin and joined the path along the ridge W of Coire an Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fiacaill Ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire an Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Morlich and Meall a’ Bhuachaille.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire an Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This had been a really enjoyable walk in great weather, and once again including the Tops made an otherwise familiar walk a lot more interesting. Even for walkers who “don’t do Munro Tops” I would recommend to visit Creag an Leth-choin as it is a wonderful viewpoint for the Lairig Ghru!

Back to top

3 thoughts on “Cairn Gorm + Tops

  1. I’m always surprised more people don’t visit Lurcher’s – it’s a superb viewpoint and a lovely peak. I love anything in the Cairngorms though. I seem to have done all my walking there in snow so far apart from Braeriach last year.

    Not seen the Great Slab before and didn’t know about that – I’ll have to have a look next time I’m up there. I also have a yen to try the Fiacall (in summer of course) but not sure whether I’m up to it. I’ll have to take someone with me in case I get a bit stuck I think.
    Carol.

    • I’m not so keen on the Cairngorms (or any other hills) in the snow, it’s always soft and at least knee-deep when I’m there 😦

      No need to worry about the Fiacaill Ridge, it’s not technically difficult and there are many bypasses if you want to avoid the “dodgy bits”. I did it in summer a few years ago and found it ok but not interesting enough to go back for another visit…

      • Thanks for the info on Fiacaill – I must give it a go soon. I remember someone saying there were bypasses to the right.

        I’ve just been ploughing about for 2 days on our moor and Ilkley moor in thick, deep snow and I’m knackered!

Leave a Reply

