Ben Wyvis + Tops

Sunday 08 June 2014

24 km/1483 m/7:15 hrs

Munro (2nd round): Ben Wyvis/Glas Leathad Mòr (No. 43)

Munro Tops: An Cabar, Glas Leathad Beag + Tom a’ Chòinnich (Nos. 55 – 57)

As I was still struggling a bit with the cold I had caught on the last day of my White Mounth trip, I only did another day walk this week, rather than a backpacking trip. Ben Wyvis is my “local” Munro (I can see it from my kitchen window) and I have climbed it quite a few times because it’s very handy when I feel like some exercise with only a short drive to the hill.

Most times I used the standard route via An Cabar to the summit and returned the same way, apart from one occasion when I continued to Tom a’ Chòinnich and descended to the forestry road above Garbat from there, fighting my way through a jungle of six-foot bracken on the last section – a route I would not recommend!

From the large car park on the A835 a well maintained path leads up along the Allt a’ Bhealaich Mhòir. When the path emerges from the forest, the first Top An Cabar dominates the view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The good path continues up the hillside and soon the views to the NW open up – across the Fannichs, Loch Glascarnoch with An Teallach in the distance and the Beinn Dearg group to the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

An Teallach (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately, the Lochluichart wind farm comes into view as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About halfway up the way to An Cabar, this prominent boulder is a popular stop for a short break.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Little Wyvis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking along Ben Wyvis’ long grassy ridge, with Tom a’ Chòinnich in the distance on the left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s first Munro Top An Cabar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The eroded path along the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were several walkers around the summit area so I decided to bypass it and visit the summit on my way back when it was likely to be less busy.

I descended on the path towards Tom a’ Chòinnich but contoured around it on its E side.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The terrain en route to Glas Leathad Beag reminded me of Creag Meagaidh two days ago, with very pleasant walking on short dry grass and looking like a perfect camp site!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wyvis Lodge at the W end of Loch Glass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summit cairn on Glas Leathad Beag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The much more interesting E side of Ben Wyvis with the crags above Coire Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And another wind farm, this time “Novar” N of Loch Glass…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way back from Glas Leathad Beag I got an even better view of the E flank of Ben Wyvis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Corbett Carn Chuinneag (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch nan Druidean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The summit of Tom a’ Chòinnich, the third Munro Top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bealach Tom a’ Chòinnich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way back I passed the summit a second time, but I didn’t hang around because it had become quite windy and cold by now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dark clouds had accumulated and it looked as if it was going to rain any minute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire na Feòla.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Instead of walking over An Cabar again I used the bypass path on the W flank of the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In spite of the threatening clouds it stayed dry for the rest of the day, and later even the sun made an appearance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Including the Tops certainly made this familiar walk a lot more enjoyable. Besides, it looks as if an approach from the Loch Glass side could be interesting, I might try that the next time.

Back to top

One thought on “Ben Wyvis + Tops

  1. I have a Ben Wyvis in draft which is pretty much the same route (it’s been in draft for ages in case I run out of current walks – probably soon!). You did right to go back along the summit ridge – I tried descending from Tom a’ Choinnich and walking back to the outward route and it was ‘orrid! I liked the tops out the back though lovely wild feel to them 🙂
    Carol.

Leave a Reply

