Bynack More

On Saturday, 24 August 2013 I had made an attempt at the Beinn Dearg group, starting from Inverlael. The hills were covered in low cloud, but according to the forecast, it was supposed to brighten up during the morning – yet it didn’t. When I reached the waterfall Eas Fionn in Gleann na Sguaib, I decided to turn back.

As I didn’t want to return empty-handed, I stopped at Loch Glascarnoch on the way home and climbed the Corbett Beinn Liath Mhòr a’ Ghiuthais instead (11.5 km/432 m/03:00 hrs). I didn’t get any views from this summit either, but at least it’s another Corbett bagged (No. 65), and I’m glad to have got this one “out of the way” because it is one of the boggiest hills I have ever climbed. It’s really not worth a separate trip report, so here are just a couple of photos.

On the way up, view back to Loch a’ Gharbhrain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Liath Mhòr a’ Ghiuthais summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Saturday, 31 August 2013

24.3 km/897 m/06:45 hrs

Munro (2nd round): Bynack More (No. 3)

Munro Tops: A’ Chòinneach + Bynack Beg (Nos. 2 + 3)

A week later, the weather conditions were a lot better, and I paid Bynack More another visit, this time including its two tops A’ Chòinneach and Bynack Beg.

Glen More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Strath Nethy and Cairn Gorm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meall a’ Bhuachaille.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bynack More and Bynack Beg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was very windy on the crest of the ridge, so I stayed on the left (E) side of it where it is a bit more sheltered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View E, with Ben Avon on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben Avon (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the summit ridge, looking back.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bynack Beg, which I would be visiting later.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bynack More summit cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My next target, the Munro Top A’ Chòinneach (the rounded “lump” in the centre…).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The descent to the wide bealach is very pleasant on short, dry grass.

Bynack Beg in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bynack More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A’ Chòinneach summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As this top itself is not very spectacular, I walked a bit further to get a view down to Loch Avon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Avon and Carn Etchachan (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I made my way back across easy terrain towards Bynack Beg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allt a’ Choire Dheirg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Colourful patches of moss and heather.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just like Bynack More, Bynack Beg has got some interesting granite tors on its summit ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the summit tor into Coire Dubh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had planned to descend along Bynack Beg’s N ridge, and cut across Coire Dubh to reach the main path I had used on the walk in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But from the summit I spotted a path contouring around the lower slopes of Bynack More, providing a more direct return route, and I decided to use this one instead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back from the path to the summit of Bynack Beg, now with other walkers on the top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Main path to Bynack More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From here it is a quick descent along the excellent path into Glen More and past Lochan Uaine, the Green Lochan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

4 thoughts on “Bynack More

  1. God,that makes me feel old.When I was first up Bynack more there was no trace of a path anywhere 🙂
    Agree with you about the poor Corbett.Everyone seems to do it as a bad weather option,myself included.

  2. Funnily enough, I went up Beinn Dearg on the same date; blind optimism that the clouds would lift made me continue to the top. You made the right decision, as the clouds did not lift all day, and the view from the summit was non-existent. On a brighter note, I went further north the next day and enjoyed Arkle in stunning weather.

    • Thanks for letting me know that the clouds didn’t lift after all (and I’m sorry that you didn’t get any views!), because I promised myself to try and climb all the Munros on my second round in good visibility!

      Good to hear that you had a great walk the next day 🙂

Leave a Reply

