Càrn an Fhreiceadain

Sunday 21 July 2013

16.9 km/660 m/04:30 hrs

Corbett: Càrn an Fhreiceadain (No. 62)

Due to a two-day Outdoor First Aid Course which was supposed to take place in Newtonmore, I had booked two nights at the excellent Newtonmore Hostel. However, a couple of days before, I was informed that the location of the course had been changed to the Ranger Station at Cairngorm Mountain in Aviemore – if I had known that earlier, I would have booked accommodation in Aviemore, or would have just driven down from Inverness in the morning.

But I had been looking forward to visit the Newtonmore Hostel which is run by fellow TGO Challengers Sue and Ali, who had also granted me a discounted rate for my room, so I kept my booking.

The heatwave which had lasted for several weeks now, was said to end in a few days, and I was sorry to be missing out on some hill days in perfect weather because of the course. I decided to use the Sunday for a walk up Càrn an Fhreiceadain, the Corbett N of Kingussie.

I parked in the large carpark by the golf course, and walked up the road in Glen Gynack. It was another hot and sunny day, and I wasn’t surprised to see the Gynack Burn almost dried out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shortly after the turnoff to Pitmain Lodge, the track emerges from the forest and leads across heathery slopes towards Beinn Bhreac.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Foxgloves beside the track.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the way I passed this stalkers hut, and I stopped to have a closer look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was unlocked, and the interior is quite nice with a wood-burning stove and a large, polished conference table and chairs around it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the bothy, it is just a short walk up to Beinn Bhreac.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The route to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summit trig point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From Beinn Bhreac onwards it had been quite windy, so I sat down inside the summit shelter for my lunch break. But after a few minutes it became far too hot sitting in the sun, and I left the shelter and sat behind it in the shadow instead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After my break I continued along the track, past this tall cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the cairn.

The track leads all the way to the summit and down again, so it is even possible to use a mountain bike for the ascent of this hill.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View SW to the Munro A’ Chailleach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Spey valley.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bridge across the Allt Mòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag Dhubh and Creag Mhòr.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Descent to Kingussie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Certainly not the most exciting hill, but it was good to take advantage of the warm weather for an easy Sunday stroll.

From Kingussie I drove to the Newtonmore Hostel, where I was welcomed by Sue. She showed me round, and we chatted about past and future TGO Challenges, hills, hostels and lots of other things 🙂

I can absolutely recommend the hostel, and The Glen Hotel just across the road is great for drinks and bar meals (it even has a beer garden, which was very popular on a hot day like this).

Back to top

Leave a Reply

