Glengalmadale Horseshoe

Wednesday, 29 May 2013

15.5 km/1379 m/08:00 hrs

Corbetts: Fuar Bheinn + Creach Bheinn (Nos. 48 + 49)

Graham: Beinn na Cille (No. 16)

After the TGO Challenge, during which I only managed to climb one new Corbett (Mount Battock), I was keen to increase my Corbett tally. The weather looked good in the West, so I chose the Glengalmadale Horseshoe which had been high on my To-Do-List.

I took the ferry at Corran, which I had last used as a foot passenger a bit over two weeks ago, but this time I turned S and drove along the coastal road B8043. The weather was gorgeous, warm and sunny, and the views were so lovely that I found it hard to keep my eyes on the road (but I had to, because the single track road is narrow with a wall on one side, and with lots of potholes).

Eventually I arrived at the parking area just E of Glengalmadale Bridge, put lots of sunscreen on and started walking at about 10:15. After crossing the bridge, I walked to the edge of the forest and climbed up beside it. I had read that the initial ascent was very steep – higher up it’s almost vertical!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking down to Glengalmadale from above the forest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Camas na Croise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually, the terrain becomes a little less steep, but it was still hard work in the heat, and the various false summits didn’t help.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But the views made up for the effort!

Across Loch Linnhe to Appin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Mheadhoin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The head of Glen Galmadale with Creach Bheinn and Maol Odhar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn a’ Bheithir with Bidean nam Bian behind.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben Cruachan in the distance, the tiny dot in the foreground is Castle Stalker.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn na Cille summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My next target, Fuar Bheinn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the way I passed this rectangular cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to Beinn na Cille.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the buildings of Glensanda Quarry on the Bheinn Mheadhoin ridge (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the summit of Fuar Bheinn I met Molly, a hillwalker from Ireland who works in Kingairloch for the season, with her Border Collie.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She had come up from Coire Ghardail and was going to return along the Glas Bheinn ridge. We talked for about half an hour, then we went our separate ways.

Coire Ghardail.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The wide bealach Cùl Mhàm and Creach Bheinn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A collection of summit shelters at the top of Creach Bheinn, a metal pipe in the centre of the biggest one is all that is left of the trig point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the descent from the summit, I came across the remains of the “Camp” which was constructed by OS surveyors in the early 19th century.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pool on the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View across Diollaid na Maoil Uidhre towards Appin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I reached Bealach Coire an Dubh-alltan, I had the choice between descending into Glen Galmadale or continuing along the ridge to do the whole horseshoe. In this weather, the decision was easy 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ascent to Maol Odhar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The ascent was easier than it looked, and in less than 15 minutes I was at the summit. The cairn contains various parts of an airplane wreckage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Garbh Bheinn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben Nevis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More parts of the wreckage (a US jet fighter which exploded above Maol Odhar in 1964) are arranged in small heaps on the plateau.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Although the descent from Maol Odhar is on an easy-angled slope covered in short grass, and very pleasant to walk on, suddenly both of my knees started to hurt. From now on, every step was painful and I had to take short breaks every few minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View back to Bealach Coire an Dubh-alltan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Across Loch Linnhe to Glencoe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Galmadale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glengalmadale and Camas na Croise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lismore.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During the steep descent from the ridge to Glengalmadale my knees complained even more than before, but after a day’s rest they were ok again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a wonderful area that sadly is often being neglected by Munro-baggers (including myself, I must admit), and I am already looking forward to my next visit. There are many interesting Corbetts to climb, and also the glens are certainly worth exploring.

Back to top

2 thoughts on “Glengalmadale Horseshoe

    • I try to avoid steep descents, but every now and again my knees are giving me trouble. And it doesn’t seem to be related to the length of the walk or the weight of my rucksack, it’s just random 😐

      But compared to what you went through this year, sore knees seem to be a minor inconvenience 😉

      Well done for the quick recovery!

Leave a Reply

