Aonach Shasuinn

Friday, 19 April 2013

17.9 km/838 m/07:15 hrs

Corbett: Aonach Shasuinn (No. 46)

Driving along the single track road to Loch Affric, I couldn’t believe how nice the weather was, and stopped several times to admire the views.

Loch Beinn a’ Mheadhoin (photo taken from the car).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the car park at the road end I was pleased to see that the toilet block had recently been upgraded.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View from the bridge across the Garbh-uisge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I first walked along the track on the S side of Loch Affric, then followed the signposted path to Cougie.

Fallen tree on the path.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

According to the map, the path crosses a footbridge and continues on the W bank of the Allt Garbh, but as I couldn’t find any sign of that bridge, I just stayed on the E bank. The path on this side is clear enough, but quite boggy in places.

On the right, Carn Glas Iochdarach came into view. I remembered the very rough descent from this ridge after I had climbed Carn a’ Choire Ghairbh via the good stalkers path from the W end of Loch Affric a few years ago. On that occasion, I had neither enough daylight nor energy left to include Aonach Shasuinn in the round.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a short steeper section, the track that leads E to Cougie, is reached. In the other direction, it continues to a small shed above Loch an Sgùid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creag Coire nan Each, An Tudair, Màm Sodhail and Sgùrr na Lapaich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aonach Shasuinn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch an Sgùid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I left the track before the bridge across the Allt Garbh and headed towards the foot of Ceann Aonach Shasuinn, Aonach Shasuinn’s NE ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trying to avoid as much of the snow fields as possible, I ascended the section slightly right of the centre of the photo.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back along the glen of the Allt Garbh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were only a few metres across snow patches that I couldn’t avoid, but they turned out to be quite awkward. The snow was soft and I could kick steps easily, but the steep slope underneath was frozen and I couldn’t get any grip with the soles of my boots or my trekking poles. Very slowly and carefully I inched my way up, hoping the snow wouldn’t suddenly give way, making me tumble down the hillside!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch an Sgùid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coire Gorm, with the summit of Aonach Shasuinn in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But eventually I made it safely up to the plateau.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before I headed over to the summit, I walked to the edge of the plateau and had a good look around.

Sgùrr nan Conbhairean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A’ Chràlaig and Mullach Fraoch-choire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Large cornice above Coire Gorm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aonach Shasuinn summit cairn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summit shelter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bealach an Amais and An Elric, the continuation of the round if Carn a’ Choire Ghairbh is included.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Carn a’ Choire Ghairbh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Allt Garbh meandering down the glen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the descent I chose a more direct line to the river, along the W flank of Ceann Aonach Shasuinn which was a bit steeper but completely snow-free.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking up the glen towards Carn a’ Choire Ghairbh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch an Sgùid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I forded the outflow of Loch an Sgùid to have a look at the (locked) shed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From there I followed the track along the Allt Garbh.

View back up the glen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allt Garbh from the bridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a long break by the ford across the Allt a’ Choire-bheithe I started the return route, enjoying the views across to the Loch Affric Munros on the way down.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

One thought on “Aonach Shasuinn

Leave a Reply

