Carn na Saobhaidhe

Friday, 01 March 2013

28.7 km/532 m/07:15 hrs

Corbett: Carn na Saobhaidhe (No. 45)

It was time to do one of the not-so-exciting hills, as there was still quite a lot of snow around (on a perfect summer’s day I would have other plans than a hill like this…). I drove down the long single track road in Strathdearn and parked at Coignafearn.

Walking along the track to Dalbeg, I remembered last year’s TGO Challenge when I had camped higher up by the River Eskin and had been snowed in overnight. The next morning I was feeling quite miserable, wet, cold and in need of some company, and was so happy when I met a family of three who had set up camp by Dalbeg.

Today everything was different: It was warm, the sun was shining and the whole atmosphere in the glen seemed a lot friendlier.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Approaching Dalbeg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After passing Dalbeg, I followed the track along the Allt Creagach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bridge across the Allt Creagach Beag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Interestingly shaped “cornices” on the banks of the Allt Odhar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After the track peters out, there are about 2.5 km of peat hags to cross. But it wasn’t as bad as I had expected because the bog was mainly frozen, and the snow patches in between were of a consistency that made it easy to walk on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eventually I arrived on the flat grassy summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Single wind turbine on Beinn Dubhcharaidh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allt Odhar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a long tea break at Dalbeg I made my way back to the car. I was surprised how much I enjoyed this walk, considering it wasn’t very high on my To Do List of interesting hills!

Back to top

2 thoughts on “Carn na Saobhaidhe

Leave a Reply

