Geal Charn (near Dorback)

Saturday, 24 November 2012

13.4 km/514 m/04:15 hrs

Corbett: Geal Charn (No. 37)

I had parked in the far corner of the large turning area at the end of the public road near Dorback Lodge, and as soon as I had left my car, a farmer in a Landrover stopped beside me. I almost expected him to tell me off for parking there, but he just asked me where I was heading and told me I shouldn’t worry about the dogs in the kennels by the farm when I passed them.

After walking past Dorback Lodge and the farm building, and past the barking and growling dogs, I could continue in peace and quiet.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I followed the track along the Dorback Burn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben Rinnes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the Allt Slugan na Cloiche I left the track and climbed up the heather covered slope beside the stream. Eventually I reached Geal Charn’s broad ridge and was rewarded with good views to Ben Avon…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… and Bynack More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Geal Charn summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the summit I followed the broad ridge first NW, then N.

Meall a’ Bhuachaille.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Allt na h-Eirghe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the foot of the N ridge I came across an unlocked wooden hut, where I stopped for a tea break.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The ford on the Allt na h-Eirghe was dried out and easy to cross.

Ford

The derelict farm at Upper Dell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View back to Geal Charn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Between the Dorback Burn and the road lies an area of “sand dunes” – looking somewhat out of place in this landscape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Certainly not the most exciting hill, but at least it was another Corbett bagged!

Back to top

Leave a Reply

