Ben Rinnes

Saturday, 17 November 2012

7.3 km/517 m/02:30 hrs

Corbett: Ben Rinnes (No. 36)

A rather late start from Inverness meant that I arrived at the start of my walk shortly after 13:00. The small parking area was already full, but I managed to find a space at the side of the road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As the number of cars at the start point had already indicated, the hill was busy with walkers, runners, dogs and families with young kids.

Not really surprising as the ascent is very straightforward on a path that has the feel of a motorway…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View SE, with the Graham The Buck on the skyline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking W from the summit to the tor Scurran of Morinsh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben Rinnes trig point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another small tor on the way down from the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Although it was a nice and sunny day, a biting cold wind made my eyes water and I didn’t feel like hanging around the summit for too long.

On the descent, the low afternoon sun created intense colours across Glen Rinnes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Before I drove home, I had my lunch (that I had carried up and down the hill) in the car. It seemed somewhat disproportional to drive 03:30 hours for a 02:30 walk, but it was interesting to see an area that I had not visited before.

It’s a shame that I’m not a whisky drinker because I must have passed a dozen distilleries on this round trip!

Back to top

4 thoughts on “Ben Rinnes

  1. I’ve done this hill twice, two routes and I have to say it is my least favourite. Thay views can be glorious, but I do not like that hill!

      • I quite liked Geal Charn! Well, the first time, the second was a miserable failure due to my silly Raynauds attack, but I will go back. Meall a Bhuachaille however, will always be my favourite, second would be Sgor Gaoith, I think…

Leave a Reply

