Beinn Sgritheall

Monday 22 October 2012

13.9 km/852 m/06:00 hrs

Munro: Beinn Sgritheall (No. 281)

What I had read and heard about the trade route up Beinn Sgritheall from Arnisdale sounded quite off-putting (my poor knees!) and so I decided to climb the hill via its W ridge. I parked at the side of the Glenelg-Arnisdale road, a bit over a km S of Upper Sandaig.

View to Skye.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eigg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking along the wide forestry road, I was passed by a forestry worker in a small van who offered me a lift to the gate at the edge of the forest, but I declined as it would have felt like “cheating”.

On the 1:25000 map the track continues as a path, but if it really exists I lost it somewhere around Loch na Lochain and just kept walking towards Bealach Ràrsaidh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the forest and Loch na Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Near Lochan Bhealach Ràrsaidh I picked up another path that’s not marked on the map, but had been mentioned to me by the forestry worker who had assured me that it would lead all the way to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Skye.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Mhialairigh and the lower part of the W ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The upper part of the W ridge is rocky and steep, but the path makes progress easy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I reached the summit at 12:00 and couldn’t believe my luck: My second-last Munro in gorgeous weather and stunning views all around – wooohooo!! 😀

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View along the W ridge, with Rum and Skye on the horizon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking towards the E top, the standard ascent route lies behind it on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Five Sisters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Alligin and Liathach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn na Caillich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Hourn with Barrisdale Bay in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After a long lunch break I reluctantly made my way down the W ridge again – I found it difficult to leave the summit and the wonderful views behind 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Hourn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Sgritheall, seen across Loch na Lochain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And one last look back…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the drive back I stopped at the viewpoint for the Five Sisters at the top of Bealach Ràtagain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Duich and Morvich.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After seeing the good weather forecast the previous evening at the Kintail Lodge Hotel, I had tried to think of somewhere nice to spend the last days of my holiday. In the end I had decided to go to Torridon and climb Beinn Alligin again, one of my favourite hills, and had booked a bed at the YH.

I first made a detour to Kyle of Lochalsh to buy some food at the Coop, and then drove up to Torridon, taking the scenic route via Lochcarron and Shieldaig. I didn’t have a map of Beinn Alligin with me, but I was able to borrow one from the hostel for a small fee (if the forecast was correct, I wouldn’t need a map, but I always carry one anyway).

Back to top

7 thoughts on “Beinn Sgritheall

  1. Will need to re-visit Beinn Sgritheall sometime to enjoy the views having done it in the mist the first time. Probably a good idea to take your route, I remember the other side being pretty steep all the way from the loch shore.

  2. Wow ! You got lucky with the weather, and the photo’s are fantastic ! 🙂 Did it from the east and took in the Corbett. I remember the descent from Beinn Sgitheall was really steep. keithpostie

  3. Great photos! That looks a good route, which I hadn’t seen before. Beinn Sgritheall’s my last munro, which I’m climbing with various friends and family in mid-July. I’d kept it for my last one for the views (according to Sir Hugh Munro, the munro with the best views of all) but hadn’t realised that the main route was so steep. So your route sounds like a great alternative.

    • It certainly is a lot less steep, and although it’s a bit longer than the main route, it saves some ascent because you start at 150 m instead of at sea level 😉

      Wishing you great weather and perfect views for your last one!

  4. We came back through the forest after a disastrous ascent from the loch shore where we couldn’t find a cairn or a route! I need to do it again now as I didn’t get the ‘top’ as my friend was taken ill near the summit so we were lucky to get up and back (in the clag as usual) 😦
    Carol.

Leave a Reply

