Loch Treig and Loch Ossian Round from Fersit

Day 1 Fersit – Loch Treig

Day 2 Loch Treig – Corrour – Loch Ossian YH

Day 3 Loch Ossian YH – Fersit

Day 1

Fersit – Loch Treig

Friday 19 October 2012

18.5 km/439 m/07:30 hrs

From the car park near the bridge at Fersit I climbed up to the Parallel Road that skirts around Creag Fhinaclach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The “path” is very overgrown at first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then it turns into a boggy mess.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Later the path improves slightly, but after passing a quarry and a dam and following the Allt Làire for a while it peters out completely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found the scenery in Coire Làire very bleak, maybe it is different in better weather when the surrounding hills are visible. It had been drizzling from the start, but now the rain had become heavier and the clouds were low.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the head of Coire Làire a southern tributary stream of the Allt Ruigh Ghobhainn was in spate and I had to make a detour uphill until I could find a place to cross it safely.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I reached Bealach an Sgùrr, all I could see of Sgùrr Innse was this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In these conditions I really didn’t feel like climbing the two Corbetts, I only wanted to get out of the rain as quickly as possible.

The bothy down in Lairig Leacach was a very welcome sight at this point.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lairig Leacach Bothy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the bothy I had an extended lunch break, but after a while I began to feel cold and wanted to get moving again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the bothy I followed the track along the Allt na Lairige, large sections of which were waterlogged.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A tree-lined narrow gorge adds a little bit of interest to the walk, apart from that it just felt like an endless slog on slippery, muddy ground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the dull weather daylight was fading quickly, and I began to look out for a camp site. The ground was very soggy, and the nearest suitable place I knew was Creaguaineach Lodge at the head of Loch Treig.

When I arrived there, it was just getting dark, and after wandering around between the deserted lodge and its outbuildings, I decided against it. I had camped by the lodge in the past, but this time it felt somehow eerie and I didn’t feel like staying there.

The next opportunity was a small grassy patch just after the bridge across the Allt Crunachgan. I put my headtorch on and walked as fast as I could, worrying that someone else might have had the same idea and “my” little camp site was already occupied. In that case I would have to walk further up the track to the railway underpass, with more potential pitches on the banks of the Allt a’ Chamabhreac.

But I was lucky and found my intended camp still available. I pitched my tent in the rain, had dinner and fell asleep quickly, knowing I only had a very easy and short day ahead of me tomorrow.

Back to top

Day 2

Loch Treig – Corrour – Loch Ossian YH

Saturday 20 October 2012

8.5 km/211 m/02:45 hrs

Sometime during the night the rain had stopped and in the early morning the surface of Loch Treig looked very calm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two hours later, the clouds had even started to lift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The W end of the loch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was in no rush to leave my camp site, and when I was ready to pack up my tent, the sun even made an appearance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View back from the track to Loch Ossian.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leum Uilleim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Grey Corries.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Ossian and the Ben Alder hills in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Corrour Station.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the Corrour Station Restaurant I had a venison burger with chips and a couple of Magners.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After my lunch, I still had some time to spare before walking over to the YH, so I sat by the fireplace and tried to read a book that I had borrowed from the shelf in the corner. That turned out to be difficult because Archie, the resident dog, first tried to eat the cushions on the sofa I was sitting on, and then my book. Thankfully, he later discovered that the logs beside the fireplace tasted even better, and I finally got some peace and quiet 😆

Before I left, I bought a couple of very tasty looking homemade cupcakes, and also got a 10 % discount card for my next visit. Although it was before 17:00 when I arrived at the Loch Ossian YH, it was unlocked and when I walked in, it was quite a surprise to be greeted by Linda whom I had first met at Hogmanay 2010 at the Glen Nevis YH. She had travelled by train and was doing some day walks in the area. Later the rest of the guests arrived and we all had a nice evening in the warm and cosy kitchen at the hostel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to top

Day 3

Loch Ossian YH – Fersit

Sunday 21 October 2012

19.1 km/277 m/05:00 hrs

The weather looked promising when I left the hostel and walked along the S bank of Loch Ossian.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And it got even better when I walked past Corrour Shooting Lodge and into Strath Ossian.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

River and Strath Ossian.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meall Garbh and Chno Dearg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Ghuilbinn with Beinn a’ Chlachair on the skyline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View back along the glen, Strathossian House right of centre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Ghuilbinn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shortly after crossing the bridge over the Allt Fèith Thuill I left the road and followed the path that climbs diagonally up the hillside E of Chno Dearg. When I had just finished my lunch break in the lee of a large boulder beside the path, two mountainbikers passed by (not cycling, but pushing their bikes). They were also on their way to Fersit, and after a brief chat with them I continued up the hill while they stopped for a break behind the same boulder.

On the wide plateau E of Chno Dearg – looking towards Beinn a’ Chlachair on the left, and Geal-Chàrn, Aonach Beag and Beinn Eibhinn on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Binnein Shuas in the centre with Loch Laggan on the left and Creag Pitridh on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After entering the forest, the path deteriorates and becomes very boggy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruined building in the forest.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the edge of the forest, a large locked gate blocks the way. It can be climbed easily by a high stile at the side of it, but I felt sorry for the mountainbikers who would have to lift their bikes over the stile. But I never saw them again that day – they must have either taken a very long break or they changed their minds after seeing the state of the path and found another way to get to Fersit.

Out of the forest, the path improves again and it is easy going back to the car park.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During my stay at Fort William a few days ago, I had booked a room at the Trekker’s Lodge at the Kintail Lodge Hotel. After a pleasant drive to Shiel Bridge from Fersit I checked into my room, had a shower and walked over to the hotel for a bar meal and a few drinks.

Back in my room, I packed my rucksack for the next day, checked the weather forecast – it looked great – and went to bed looking forward to climbing Beinn Sgritheall the next day 🙂

Back to top

5 thoughts on “Loch Treig and Loch Ossian Round from Fersit

  1. Another fine report and photos.
    You put me to shame, I have two day hikes still to write up, one from last October!
    Great reading again, building my enthusiasm for an outing, all I need now is a half decent weather forecast.

  2. This looks like a fantastic walk i was in corrour last year but was stuck for time but i am coming back in april to have a 3 or 4 day walk any advice would be good i am thinking of staying at the yout hostel and going out to strath ossian just for the sake of it.

    tks
    jimmy
    from down under

    • Are you planning to arrive by train? There are many possible routes starting or finishing at Fersit, Corrour or Rannoch Station and you can walk along the glens or over the hills. It’s best to book the YH in advance, and if you are planning to have a meal at the Corrour Station Restaurant it is essential to book as well. Enjoy your trip 🙂

  3. hi ness 64 thanks for responding
    i am planning to stay 2 nights at the youth hostel and the last night at corrour station i will be getting the 9am or 9am train train from Glasgow.

    i have already booked my accommodation in advance now i have just got to work out a couple of nice walks and maybe go up beinn L.

    Nothing to strenuous just a few hrs walking each day may 4 – 5 hrs om day trips unless there is something that makes me camp out.
    cheers
    jimmy.

Leave a Reply

