Ben More (Mull) via Beinn Fhada

Day 1 Travelling from Comrie to Tobermory

Day 2 Beinn Fhada and Ben More

Day 1

Travelling from Comrie to Tobermory

Monday 15 October 2012

No walking today, just driving – but the weather was so gorgeous I just had to add some photos of the day!

Although it had been a cold night in Comrie (in the morning my car windows were frozen for the first time), it quickly turned into a warm and sunny day and the journey to the Isle of Mull was an absolute pleasure.

Loch Earn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A rather majestic looking Beinn Dorain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After using the Corran ferry (£ 7 single) I was surprised to see a very long queue on the other side – I estimated something between 80 and 100 cars and was wondering if I should probably make the detour along the A861 on the way back?

But later that day I found out that the Mull Rally had taken place at the weekend and the queues were caused by all the participants and visitors returning to the mainland. I was very lucky with the timing of my trip as I had been unaware of this event and probably would have struggled to find accommodation on Mull one or two days earlier.

After a scenic drive across the Morvern peninsula I arrived at the pier in Lochaline and took the next ferry to Fishnish (£ 28.55 return). The Oban-Craignure crossing would have cost over £ 70 and takes 25 minutes longer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was only 14:00 when I arrived on the Isle of Mull and the YH in Tobermory would not open until 17:00, so I drove along the B8035 to suss out the start point of tomorrow’s walk and to get a first glimpse of Ben More.

It’s been many years since I last visited Mull and I had completely forgotten how stunning the scenery was. I also noticed that there were large flat areas of grass beside the road and I could have easily camped somewhere, if I hadn’t already booked the hostel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After some food shopping and wandering up and down Tobermory Main Street a couple of times it was still too early to check into the YH, so I spent the time until then in the Mishnish Bar, a cosy pub just a few metres up the road from the hostel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Using the SYHA October offer (30 % discount) I paid only £ 12.25 per night and had a six bed dorm to myself for the two nights.

Back to top

Day 2

Beinn Fhada and Ben More

Tuesday 16 October 2012

14.5 km/1198 m/07:15 hrs

Munro: Ben More/Mull (No. 280)

Graham: Beinn Fhada (No. 13)

It was still dark when I left the hostel at 07:30 and I arrived at the start of my walk just after 08:00. Shortly before the bridge across the Scarisdale River I found a faint, boggy path that leads to the foot of the Beinn Fhada ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Higher up the terrain becomes very steep, and I tried to follow deer tracks through grass, heather and crags.

Coire nan Gabhar.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But the effort was rewarded with this view across Loch na Keal and the islands Ulva and Eorsa.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Walking along the ridge, the going becomes a lot easier.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking down on the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sheep posing in front of Ben More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last section of the ascent to Beinn Fhada’s summit is steep and rocky, but I found an easier way up above the lochan on its SW side.

Beinn Fhada summit cairn, with A’ Chìoch and Ben More ahead.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View to the N with Eigg and the Skye Cuillin on the horizon, and Ben Hiant in front (right of centre).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dùnan nan Nighean on the left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gleann na Beinne Fada, an alternative route to the bealach between Beinn Fhada and A’ Chìoch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cruachan Dearg towering above Glen Clachaig, with the cliffs of Creag MhicFhionnlaidh on the right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On the lower slopes of A’ Chìoch I stopped for a lunch break before I continued up the ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The upper part of the ridge is a bit scrambly, but never difficult.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A’ Chìoch summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The way ahead – the connecting ridge to Ben More soon becomes nice and narrow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to A’ Chìoch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had read in various trip reports that the best way up to the summit is on the left (SE) side of the ridge, and that it is easy to get tempted into following some of the tracks that lead further S, but peter out on the steep hillside. Now I knew what they meant – anything seemed better than climbing straight up!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was nothing for it but to head upwards, but eventually I came across a steep gully that showed signs of others passing before, so I used that route too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I reached the summit I could see three hillwalkers arriving on the top of A’ Chìoch (zoomed).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ben More summit shelter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen More.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A’ Chìoch and Cruachan Dearg.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frozen grass on the N side of the coire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The descent (= the standard route) is an ugly eroded path marked with cairns at regular intervals. I was glad I didn’t walk up this way, it’s bad enough to use this path once.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View back to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Abhainn Dhiseig.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sign at the start of the path.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All that was left to do now was the walk back to my car, but I didn’t mind the road walk in such wonderful weather.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I got back to my car at 16:15, drove to Tobermory and went to the pub for a well-earned pint of cider before I returned to the hostel.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was definitely one of the highlights of this year, the weather was perfect, the views brilliant and the route itself interesting but not too demanding.

I would recommend this round to anyone who is comfortable with easy scrambling, it is miles better than going up and down via the standard route 😀

Back to top

2 thoughts on “Ben More (Mull) via Beinn Fhada

  1. Ben More awaits as my final Munro & after seeing your trip report I would like to follow your route when the time comes – it looks great ! I wasn’t aware of the Graham as well, that’s a bonus ! 🙂

    • A very good choice (of route and hill – wish I had chosen Ben More as my final Munro…)!

      I really hope that you’ll get a great day for it and that you can enjoy the wonderful views 🙂

Leave a Reply

