Ben Chonzie

Sunday 14 October 2012

16.7 km/951 m/06:00 hrs

Munro: Ben Chonzie (No. 279)

At work, I had submitted a holiday request for the second half of September. But then I had postponed it week after week because the weather wasn’t good enough for what I was planning to do, and now I couldn’t delay it any longer because at the end of the month BST would end and after that daylight hours would be considerably shorter.

My plan was to climb the last three remaining Munros before my comple(a)tion on the InPin, by travelling a wide loop in a clockwise direction (Crieff/Mull/Loch Hourn) and filling the middle part with a backpacking trip from Fort William.

Tranter’s Round (a shorter version of Ramsay’s Round) is a trip over the Mamores and Grey Corries, normally completed by hill runners in under 24 hours, starting and finishing at the Glen Nevis YH. I wanted to do it at a more leisurely pace, in 5 or 6 days with a detour to Loch Ossian for an overnight stay at the YH and dinner and breakfast at the Corrour Station Restaurant.

It took me about three hours to drive from Inverness to Loch Turret. The weather was nice and sunny, and after losing my way twice on the access road to the reservoir 😳 and successfully negotiating a herd of Highland Cattle blocking the road, I could finally start my walk along Loch Turret.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rainbow over the N end of the loch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Moraines at the upper end of Loch Turret.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Turret.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The ascent route leads towards the small gap in the centre between the crags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lochan Uaine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way up the steep path at the head of the coire, it started to drizzle which quickly turned into rain.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Turret and Lochan Uaine before they disappeared in the clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the meantime the wind had picked up and I had to stop to add an extra layer and to put gloves on. From the bealach I could follow a line of fence posts to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I continued along the fence posts in a SW direction until they take a sharp turn SE, and at this point the clouds started to lift.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Auchnafree Hill (which, in hindsight, I should have included in this round…).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Lednock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meall na Sèide.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Green bog en route to Càrn Chòis.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glen Lednock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I bypassed Càrn Chòis on the left (E) side and followed the path back down to the loch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Turret Reservoir.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After another nerve-wracking encounter with the Highland cows who were reluctant to move this time…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… I made it without further incident to Comrie Croft Hostel where I had booked an ensuite single room for the night. Very recommended!

Back to top

Leave a Reply

