Ben Alder from the top of Bealach Dubh

Day 1 Dalwhinnie – Bealach Dubh

Day 2 Bealach Dubh – Ben Alder – Dalwhinnie

Day 1

Dalwhinnie – Bealach Dubh

Saturday 06 October 2012

21.9 km/604 m/06:30 hrs

For quite a while I had been wanting to climb Ben Alder once more, with some views from the summit preferably! My first visit in June 2010 was in constant rain and low cloud, ascending and descending via the Long Leachas ridge.

This time the weather was supposed to be dry with light winds, and my plan was to go up Long Leachas again, camp on the grassy summit plateau and use the standard route via Bealach Beithe for the descent the next day.

And so I found myself once again walking on the seemingly endless track from Dalwhinnie along Loch Ericht.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ponies near Loch Pattack.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Fara.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fast moving clouds – and a localised rain shower near Ben Alder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I stopped for a short break in Culra Bothy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Since my last visit some changes had been made to the main room: One of the bunk beds had been removed, and two tables with benches had been fitted instead, as well as some shelves.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

New shelves in the main room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After my break, I continued up the path along the Allt a’ Chaoil-rèidhe.

Sgòr Iutharn and Lancet Edge, another great scrambling route that I am keen to repeat sometime.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I left the path, crossed the stream and climbed up to the crest of the Long Leachas ridge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On my way up I noticed the wind becoming stronger, and when I arrived on the ridge I was struggling to stay upright.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These were not exactly the “light winds” that were forecast, and I was only at a height of about 750 m. An overnight camp on the exposed summit plateau was out of the question, and in these conditions I wouldn’t have felt comfortable on the ridge itself, especially with a big pack.

I decided to look for a sheltered camp site further down and hope for better weather the next day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long Leachas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I continued up the path to the bealach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A few hundred metres before the high point of the path, I found what I thought was a sheltered place for my tent. Although the pitch was in the lee of the bealach, my tent kept shaking and rattling in the heavy gusts all night.

The noise the stags were making didn’t help either… sometimes I wonder if they ever sleep?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Sunset light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Back to top

Day 2

Bealach Dubh – Ben Alder – Dalwhinnie

Sunday 07 October 2012

28 km/678 m/08:15 hrs

In the morning the wind had eased and I climbed up beside the Allt a’ Bhealaich Dhuibh past this nice waterfall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View down into the glen, Sgòr Iutharn on the left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Ossian in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Eibhinn and Aonach Beag.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Grey Corries just visible on the skyline in the centre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After reaching Coire na h-Eiginn it is an easy walk over the grassy plateau to the rocky summit of Ben Alder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

View NE across the wide plateau.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Trig point with Loch Ossian in the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was great to finally see the views I had missed the last time 🙂

Beinn Bheòil and Loch a’ Bhealaich Bheithe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lochan a’ Garbh Choire on the summit plateau.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Steep cliffs above Garbh Choire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking back to the summit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch a’ Bhealaich Bheithe, and Loch Ericht in the distance.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After enjoying the views in all directions, I walked along the edge of Garbh Choire to Sròn Bealach Beithe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Pattack and The Fara.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To avoid the crags below Sròn Bealach Beithe, I walked SW for about 400 m and then started descending towards the bealach.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The S end of Loch Ericht.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beinn Bheòil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Garbh Choire.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch a’ Bhealaich Bheithe.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long Leachas.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loch Pattack.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lancet Edge on Sgòr Iutharn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last look back to Culra, Ben Alder and Sgòr Iutharn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The walk back along Loch Ericht was as boring as usual, only a helicopter that suddenly appeared above the loch and landed at Ben Alder Lodge provided some distraction.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I arrived back at my car in Dalwhinnie, it was well after 20:00 and completely dark, but I didn’t need to use my headtorch as I could still see the track clearly enough.

Although it was a bit disappointing not to have a summit camp, at least I had got great views this time, and Long Leachas is definitely on my list again for the next ascent of Ben Alder 🙂

Back to top

8 thoughts on “Ben Alder from the top of Bealach Dubh

  1. I’ve used that track from Dalwhinnie twice but biked in both times (i hate using the bike). It’s a shame you never got to camp on the summit but at least you got the views this time around. 🙂

  2. I suppose the Cairngorms can be classed as my local hills and with so many long walk in’s I soon invested in a mountain bike which is always appreciated most at the end of the day.
    Some fantastic photos and another fine report.
    Did these hills from up near Rannoch station, seems a long way in which ever way you choose.
    I think you must have got more walking in than most last year judging my the amount of reports that keep coming, looks like you got some fine rewards for your efforts 🙂
    Paul

    • Thanks, I’m trying to catch up with my trip reports before this year’s TGO Challenge. After allowing a backlog of about half a year to pile up :oops:, at the moment I really enjoy writing them. Maybe it’s because I am so desperate for nice and warm weather that going through those trips from last year is like doing them again…

Leave a Reply

