Moruisg

16 January 2012

7.68 km/861 m/04:30 hrs

Munro: Moruisg (No. 212)

Moruisg is one of the last Munros I had left to do in the Achnashellach/Loch Monar area, the other one being Maoile Lunndaidh, which I have included in this year’s TGO Challenge route. It is normally climbed in a circular walk together with the former Munro Sgùrr nan Ceannaichean which was demoted – back – to Corbett status in 2009. That circular route was my plan as well, because the Corbett is the more interesting hill of the two.

The normally very boggy approach from a lay-by on the A890, two km west of Loch Sgamhain, was not too bad as the ground was frozen.

Because of the northern approach I was walking in the shade, but the ascent soon warmed me up.

I followed a faint path along one of the subsidiary streams of the River Carron.

Higher up, the path becomes clearer and zigzags up towards a narrow bit of ground between two streams in deep gorges.

Soon the views to the NW opened up: Beinn Eighe (and a bit of Liathach) zoomed.

Towards the summit, the ground becomes less steep, but there were large areas where water had been running down the hillside. These frozen patches were covered with a thin layer of snow, and after slipping a couple of times, I thought it was time to put my MicroSpikes on.

Now it was only a short walk to the flat summit area, and I was in the sunshine at last.

View SE.

The hills of the Coulin Forest to the NW.

The true summit of Moruisg is not the large cairn seen in the photos above, but the smaller one a couple of hundred metres further.

Another view to the Coulin Forest and Torridon hills.

It was already 13:30 when I arrived on the summit, I couldn’t believe how long the ascent had taken. I had hardly done any walking since the end of November, and the fact that I still had not fully recovered from a cold that had started just before Christmas, didn’t help. My hill fitness seemed to have gone completely out the window 😦

So far I had not even covered half of my planned route, and I wasn’t keen on descending in the dark. I decided to give Sgùrr nan Ceannaichean a miss, I could always climb that one separately from the south (I had seen a good stalkers path going up from Pollan Buidhe on a previous visit). But I walked a little bit further along the ridge to get a view of the Corbett.

Glen Carron and Loch Sgamhain on the way down.

From the ridge I had started the descent without looking at the map, taking a more direct line in a westerly direction. Unfortunately, further down my way was blocked by two of the gorges I had seen on the way up. After quite a bit of re-ascent and traversing along the hillside, I found the path I had used on the ascent.

After a break, enjoying the sun, I descended into the shadow again.

River Carron.

It was 15:30 when I got back to the car, with only about an hour of daylight left – probably the right decision to leave the second hill for another day.

Back to top

3 thoughts on “Moruisg

  1. Lovely cold, wintry shots, especially those ones down in the glen at the start and end of the day. I climbed these when they were both Munros but unfortunately it was a dreich day with no views of distant hills – those views into the Coulin Forest and Torridon are fantastic so I must go up again on a better day.

    • I must admit, I’m not a great fan of winter, but lately I’ve been lucky with the weather and had some really good days out. Can’t wait for the first wild camp of the year 🙂

Leave a Reply

