Conival and Ben More Assynt

09 August 2011

17 km/1615 m/07:30 hrs

Munros: Conival, Ben More Assynt (Nos. 180 + 181)

According to the MWIS forecast for the Northwest Highlands, the weather was supposed to improve later in the day, which was the perfect excuse for me to have another late start – I arrived at Inchnadamph at 12:00.

As I followed the path along the River Traligill, the hills ahead were covered in low cloud.

Looking back to Loch Assynt.

Ascending the steep path on the north side of the Allt a’ Choinne’ Mhill, it looked as if the clouds were about to lift.

After crossing the stream and climbing up a short scrambly section, I arrived on the bealach between Beinn an Fhurain and Conival.


Unfortunately, the clouds did not lift, and so all I could see was the rocky ridge ahead, but none of the supposedly fantastic scenery on either side of it.

Shortly after 15:00, I reached Conival’s summit shelter.

It was very windy and it had started to drizzle, so I didn’t hang around but continued along the ridge to the second Munro of the day, Ben More Assynt.

When I crossed the bealach between the two hills, the clouds dispersed temporarily, just enough to catch a glimpse of the lochans in Coire a’ Mhadaidh.

Further along the ridge, I met a young couple who were just returning from Ben More Assynt, and who gave me some good advice about where to find its summit – they had walked past it at first and had only noticed their mistake on the way back!

With their description I identified the summit easily, it’s sitting a bit to the left hand side of the ridge.

I returned the same way, passing Conival’s summit again and descending back into Gleann Dubh.

Dramatic clouds towering over Canisp.

The walk ended as it had started – the Munros still covered in clouds, but at least the rain had stopped and it was a pleasant walk along Gleann Dubh.

It was a pity that I didn’t get any views from the ridge, but at least I managed two more Munros. This is a walk I will definitely do again if I get the opportunity, but in the meantime other hills have priority 😉

Back to top

One thought on “Conival and Ben More Assynt

Leave a Reply

